Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 754
If i change the ISO on my camera up, will the camera's auto, P, A and S modes take into account that I have turned the ISO up and adjust the Shutter and Aperture accordingly?

Eg if the shutter speed is 1/4s with an ISO of 100, If i change this ISO to 400 will the shutter speed increase automatically?

_________________
Tobywuk personal website || My Flickr
Gear: Sony a700! || CZ 16-80mm! || Sony 75-300 || bag: Crumpler PB xxxl / Lowepro slingshot 200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: Germany
Why don't you test it by yourself, Toby?
The answer is "yes", if you use aperture priority.

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Last edited by Thomas on Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: iso
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:18 pm
Posts: 103
Location: East Of England UK
if you are in full manual mode then no, but in the other modes it should adjust either the aperture or shutter speed to take the new iso into account.

If only I could remember that I can adjust iso without swapping films I would be ok :)

_________________
EOS 40D / Ixus 500 / S95, Canon 24-105 F4L, 50 F1.8, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 IS, Canon 10-22 IS, Speedlite 430EX II, 580 EXII
My flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/hairyfrog/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:25 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9784
Location: UK
tobywuk wrote:
If i change the ISO on my camera up, will the camera's auto, P, A and S modes take into account that I have turned the ISO up and adjust the Shutter and Aperture accordingly?

Eg if the shutter speed is 1/4s with an ISO of 100, If i change this ISO to 400 will the shutter speed increase automatically?

Step back from your question for a moment and consider the consequences if a camera manufacturer decided not to take account of the ISO number when calculating the correct exposure. They would look pretty stupid, wouldn't they?

Bob.

_________________
OM-D E-M1 + ED 12-40mm f/2.8, H-F007014E, M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 45mm 1:1.8, M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 75mm 1:1.8, L-RS014150E.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group