Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

How do you focus and compose?
Poll ended at Sun Sep 16, 2007 10:28 pm
I always use centre visor point to focus and then recompose the scene. 42%  42%  [ 5 ]
I compose the scene first and the use the settings to move the focus point. 8%  8%  [ 1 ]
I use both ways depending on the situation, even MF some times 50%  50%  [ 6 ]
Autofocus? Bah! I do it always manually 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 12
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:43 pm
Posts: 631
Location: Portugal
Maybe it's a reflex of my D40 having only 3 focus points or maybe it's because I had contact with a film SLR camera when I was young, but I always use the central visor point to get my subject in focus and then move the camera to recompose the scene.

How do you do it yourself? Central visor point to focus and the recompose, or compose first and then use the settings to change the focus point?

_________________
Nikon D90 + MB-D80 + SB-600 + AF-S VR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 + AF-S 35mm f/1.8 + AF 85mm f/1.8 | My photos on Flickr.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:36 pm
Posts: 458
Location: West Virginia, USA
i think that is what I do.haha.

_________________
Canon EOS 5D + 50mm f/1.8

http://flickr.com/photos/nathan_ward


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:38 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Scotland
I always get focus with the centre point and if need be recompose the shot. It's how my old superzoom camera worked and it's how I will use my new dSLR.

_________________
"Where does the lens end and the camera begin?..."
Sony Alpha DSLR-A100
DT 18-70 mm F3.5-5.6 (Kit)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:36 pm
Posts: 86
Location: San Antonio, TX. US
I prefer to focus then recompose. I usually tell the camera to AF on the center point only.

_________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/brate/
Nikon D40 w/18-135mm, Quantaray 70-300mm
Adobe Photoshop CS2 w/Eyecandy Plug in, Paint.Net (Open source Photoshop clone), Photomatix, Google Picasa.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: Germany
Luis, nice poll!
I extended the poll with two other alternatives, as I feel that there are people with other ways to focus out there (like me), even the die-hard MFer!
Hope you don't mind.

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:36 pm
Posts: 458
Location: West Virginia, USA
Well now I am down with the 3rd option, I wasn't sure in the begining so I put the 1st one, now I have an option that I understand, and that is what I do.

_________________
Canon EOS 5D + 50mm f/1.8

http://flickr.com/photos/nathan_ward


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: number 3
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:11 am
Posts: 298
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
It's rare that I set focus after framing the scene, but I often get frustrated with AF and use manual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
Any camera (Superzoom, DLSR or even Sony HDV FX-1E Video Camera!) I always manual focus, never trust that pesky auto lol!

I suppose the auto focus is fine 9 times out of 10, but sometimes just a little manual nudge can make it better!

One problem I have with small screens is when using manual focus, you can't really tell if it is sharp (I know you can zoom in on the image but still) because of low resolution screens. 300dpi 3inch screens (near 0.9Mp) should be comming in now, rather than 640x480 which is only 0.3Mp, so its far easier to tell right away.

Anywho rant over, i'm going to make a new and exciting topic :P

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:55 am
Posts: 299
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Manual focus is a pain with the lenses I own because of small focus rings and the croped view but macro (as macro as it can be with 1:4 mag. on zoom lenses :)) shots requires it sometimes.

_________________
Minolta primes: 2.8/20 2.8/24 1.7/50 2.8/135
Minolta zooms: 28-135 35-70 70-210(beercan) kit
Minolta cameras: Dynax 5D 7000
M42: Pentax Asahi S-M-C Takumar 1.4/50 and 2.8/105 Carl Zeiss Jena Flektogon 2.4/35 Industar-61L/Z Kiron 2.8/105 Macro


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group