Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:59 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 6:32 pm
Posts: 154
Location: UK
Just a post to ask 2 things, how many of you use dual monitors, and second, how do you set them up?
simple! :)
if someone could please suggest how to go about doing this, it would be a great help, what i want to do is set it up so that i can run one program on both screens, i have a second screen lying around, just wondered as how to use it 8)

_________________
Nikon D80
AF-S 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 Nikon {} AF 50mm f1.8 Nikon {} AF-S 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 VR ED Nikon {} Nikon AF-S 105mm VRII f2.8 Micro ED N
MB-D80 battery grip {} 4GB Sandisk extreme SDHC {} Manfrotto 109xb & 804rc2head {} Lowepro Primus AW {} SB800
Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27747651@N04/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:31 pm
Posts: 2439
Location: Brunei & Soon in Bristol UK
I think single monitor is enough for me, I believe most of professional photographer would end up to have dual monitor for serious inspection of their pictures :shock:

_________________
Soon.....Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:44 am
Posts: 49
I use 2 monitors, a 19 inch, centered (1440x900) and a 15 inch (1024x768) too the left.

Once you use two, its so hard to go back to 1. You just get used to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:35 pm
Posts: 1983
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Hi Robodent,

I use dual monitors at work, but have only one 24" monitor at home, which is enough for me.

For starters your graphics card has to be able to support this - not all do. Alternately you have to have two graphics cards - e.g. ATI Crossfire or Nvidia SLI set-up.

From there you right-click on your desktop background and choose "properties". Go to settings and advanced and find your GPU driver software..and from there it depends on the software and the graphics card.

It should be fairly intuitive if you have connected your two monitors properly - you would want the "extend desktop" option so that it considers the screen-acreage one large desktop. This allows you to move windows back and forth as per your needs.

Good luck with your set-up!

Cheers :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9784
Location: UK
.
Moved from Off-topic. :wink:

_________________
OM-D E-M1 + ED 12-40mm f/2.8, H-F007014E, M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 45mm 1:1.8, M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 75mm 1:1.8, L-RS014150E.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 6:32 pm
Posts: 154
Location: UK
thanks for that, ive got it sorted now. 2x 17" monitors set up using a nvidia 9800GX2, works fine.
Thanks for the help :shock: :P

_________________
Nikon D80
AF-S 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 Nikon {} AF 50mm f1.8 Nikon {} AF-S 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 VR ED Nikon {} Nikon AF-S 105mm VRII f2.8 Micro ED N
MB-D80 battery grip {} 4GB Sandisk extreme SDHC {} Manfrotto 109xb & 804rc2head {} Lowepro Primus AW {} SB800
Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27747651@N04/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
Dual 22's

Had dual 19's for years,

I'd never use a single screen set up EVER.

I want 3 screens, I'd like to have the middle one centered for playing games haha.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:08 pm
Posts: 1626
Location: New York, US
Not yet, but I plan on buying another 22". Should be nice. For now, I don't have the desk space for another!

I should do this:
Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:37 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Midwest US
DD_nVidia wrote:
Dual 22's

Had dual 19's for years,

I'd never use a single screen set up EVER.

I want 3 screens, I'd like to have the middle one centered for playing games haha.



Then you should try the Matrox TH2G.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 122
Location: Sunbury, Ohio
I use 3 24" lcd's at home I have them mounted side by side on a wall mounts with extended arms.

I use these mainly when I am benchmarking. Then again I am a computer geek and am always looking for the best overclock :P

_________________
Nikon D80
18-55mm Vr
55-200mm Vr

http://agleisberg.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Canada
I use two monitors. Front is 22" and side is 19". I don't think I could ever go back to a single. The dual setup gives me way more working real estate. I move all the layer and tool tabs to the side monitor, so I have as much clear space for the image as possible. I mainly use the key shortcuts so I don't have to mouse for the tools and such. Makes editing a lot easier. And I can watch TV on the side monitor, heh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:36 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Ive tried dual monitor and now it's VERY HARD just to have one.

Dual monitor rocks !!

_________________
Canon Rebel Xti (400D), EF-S 18-55, 50mm f/1.8, Sandisk Extreme III 2gb.
Http://cr4zyh3ad.sisimple.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:59 pm
Posts: 6009
Location: The Netherlands
I too have 2 monitors. One main TFT screen, and one CRT for true color representation.

I use the program Ultramon to get a taskbar on my second screen, makes life a lot easier. It also helps manage dualscreen wallpapers.

_________________
I take pictures so quickly, my highschool was "Continuous High".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group