Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:38 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:08 pm 
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to the world of DSLR photography (only 2 years in) but, without sounding arrogant, I'm already getting encouraging praise and recognition for my photos both among friends and online.

I recently took photos of a friend's wedding which surpassed the official wedding photographer's and now, the groom's family, and many friends are asking for copies of the 100 or so pics I took and edited from the day.

Then, earlier today, a friend asked me to come round and some point and take photos of her children in a semi-pro fashion so she can have some proper portraits of them.

Now, I want to get to the point where a nice percentage of my annual income comes from my photography (say 5-10%).

So, do I charge friends for my time and effort, or should they get the work for free in the hope they spread the word?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:20 am 
Only if you want to get the reputation of being the guy who takes photos for free and only if you're happy about never being able to charge your friends/family for photos again!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:35 am 
Hi Olly,

if you always do it for free, you will have many many clients in no time. If you charge friends - everyone - something, only those who understand, appreciate and VALUE good - even great - pictures as part of their history and future, will seek you out.

If you are good enough, there will be those who will pay for it. Most "civilians" are not used to pay for photography services and they will probably be reluctant to pay large amounts for birthdays, family events, family portraits, couple-shots..that sort of thing.