Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:40 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:14 pm 
I rarely edit my photos, but everyone thinks I do.

I use Canon's "Clear" picture style to get strong contrast/colors that I like.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/imnicholas/

I'm just looking for criticism for my work and if I'm good enough to start a small business on my own.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:47 am 
Hi NJSantiago,

and welcome to the forum!

Hmm..that's a tough first question to ask.

I'm assuming that you use the word "professional" synonymous with "good enough to sell" here.

I've looked through your pictures and before I utter another word, I hasten to assure you that I'm no professional judge of the selling-potential of anyone's pictures.

That being said, perhaps some questions to ask yourself are:
1) Did the people in the pictures pay for them? A lot of people say "Oh, I'd pay for those" as a compliment, but would they really? If the answer is yes, you have a good start.

2) Can you produce pictures of this quality every time, all the time? With complete strangers you don't know? Can you churn out 25 per hour? Can you guide them to be comfortable and look their best in pictures of themselves? It's "easy" to say some flattering words to a pretty young lady that you already know and make her smile and try a little harder. But can you elicit that same response and make a stranger who may not feel as comfortable about his/her looks, to do the same..every time all the time?

3) Do you know enough to shoot successfully, consistently, under a wide range of circumstances? In poor lighting..a gray, rainy day?