Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:57 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:30 pm 
I've been trying, for about 2 months now, to get into the wedding photography business on a part time basis (I currently work full time as a consultant). So far, I would say my journey has been a successful one, and I've been having a lot of fun and been learning a lot, not only about photography, but about people, personalities, religions and customs.

However, I've ran into a few concerns with regards to the attitude of some "pros" to people who are trying to break into the market. I do want to say some, and make it clear that I firmly believe that only a minority of photogs behave this way. Sadly, this minority has been the most vocal (as far as I can see) and I simple want to vent, and get the opinion of others.

I think the problem rests firmly in both camps. Pros think most noobs aren't schooled in the art of photography and basically just get a camera, leave it on auto, and run around taking bad pictures, charging less than what the market is paying and basically wreaking havoc for people who make a living doing the stuff. Amateurs often make silly statements like "I can take better pictures than that guy" or "my style is more modern" or even act as if they are trying to make a quick dollar without any regards for the people who hired them and the product they are delivering.

I think these perceptions are harbored and spread by the ignorant or arrogant few. Some pros assume that because your new, you don't know anything and can't learn anything. Some noobs assume working pros are old fashioned, don't know how to use Photoshop or any other software and are basically struggling with technology they find second nature. Both arguments are deeply misguided and are manifestations of a deeper issue IMO.

Working Pros: