Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:39 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:20 am
Posts: 4
I have a canon eos 40d which I'm looking to replace. I have a lumix gm1 for general photography but it's not up to trackside Motorsport use. I keep being told mirrorless camera AF systems will not match a dslr for tracking fast action, with possible exception of Sony a6300. My question is, would an OMD 5 mk2, whilst not a match for a 7d mk2 or 80d, be at least as good as my 40d (which would be adequate) for Motorsport work? Most of my shots are 1/1000+ approaches or 1/160 ish pans. The OMD has many other advantages (size, lens sharing) for me, so as long as it was 40d good enough for tracking fast action, I'd be happy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 755
I think an E-M5 should be satisfactory, especially if you use the fact that motorsports generally follow a predictable path to your advantage. But if you really need the AF to track a subject as it moves rapidly toward (or away from) you, you may want to consider an E-M1, instead. That said, I've shot motorsports with my GH2 and produced results I found satisfactory by working around this limitation and pre-focusing on a specific area of the track (and stopping down to f8-11; admittedly, this wouldn't be possible for a night race). (And keep in mind that you only need a fraction of a second to pre-focus.)

So unless you're shooting motocross jumps at night and can't position yourself to the side of the ramp...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:20 am
Posts: 4
Thanks. Does the Om-d 5 allow you to fix aperture and shutter speed while ISO is left to vary?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2016 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 755
Supposedly, it does, but this needs to be activated in the menu system.

http://mrfindlayphoto.blogspot.com/2014 ... o-iso.html

http://thumati.com/chronicle/2013/4/7/s ... us-omd-em5


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group