Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:54 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:06 pm 
I have been looking at the nikon 5100 and the cannon ti3

I am still undecided. I am not a pro photographer, but I do want great shots of my kids when the are competing on the basketball and football court.

I also want to catch them in their school plays and concerts. This is a zoom and low light situation.

We also spend a lot of time camping at National Parks. My hubby always wants scenic and animal shots.

I don't want to spend over $1000 for the camera and the starter lens.

I currently have an olympus 560uz that I have never been happy with.

I have watched the video reviews and I am still at a bit of a loss trying to decide.

Do I go with the cannon the nikon or another choice altogether.

Thanks for helping me catch my memories

Charity Adams

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:17 am 

Welcome to the forums Charity!

Indoor sports are kind of expensive in terms of equipment. There are a lot of cheap telezooms available, but none of those offer the light transmission you need/want for indoors sports.

The cheapest "fast" (meaning it lets in a lot of light) telezoom I'd recommend for indoor sports is the Sigma 70-200 F/2.8. Depending on how far away you are from the court, you might want a 50-150 lens instead, though.

Those lenses still cost around 800$ though, leaving pretty much no budget for the money, and a "general purpose" and landscape lens (you can combine those two).