Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:33 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:05 pm 
Hi,

I'm new here so basically I'm an architecture student, not a photographer, but it's important that we take a lot of photos and I have an interest in photography anyway, but I'm by no means an expert nor do I aspire to be. However I am planning on buying a DSLR and have found that right in my budget I can get an Olympus E-620 with 14-42mm lens kit. The girl in the store kind of wanted to steer me away from the Olympus to buy the equivalent Canon DSLR because she said she prefers Canon and for a first DSLR the lenses are more readily available for Canon than for Olympus (I'm in Ireland by the way)

Anyway I just wanted some opinions of some people who are more in the know than I am.

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:14 pm 

I don't know much about olympus but I looked on amazon and for an extra £50 you can get the 14-42 and the 40-150mm. Also wide angle lenses are very good for photographing building so you might want to consider the olympus 9-18mm for around £400. If you are planing on using this camera for a long time this would lens would definitely benefit you.

Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:23 pm 
Olympus is a dead brand now honeslty. You can get better sensors with Canon & Nikon at the same price & cheaper lenses too.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:23 pm 
thanks for that. I guess there's nothing to stop me getting those lenses later on though?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:25 pm 
thanks Razvan. I do like the idea of the articulating screen though. any similarly priced alternatives?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:33 pm