Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:26 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:01 am 

Hello all!

I want to migrate from my point-and-shoot to a new SLR camera. So in this sense I'm a total beginner. I'm trying to finalize me decision but so far this is proving more difficult than I first thought.

I've got quite a limited budget and I would only reluctantly pay more than £550/$880 in total (including lens).

Now, I really enjoy travelling and taking photos of architecture and insides of churches and galleries (so low light photography I suppose). I really started to struggle with in low light with my old camera. This however doesn't mean that I will not be interested in other types of photography.

Right now I managed to narrow down my choice to Nikon, Canon and Pentax. I briefly considered Sony but the ones that my local shops were offering (A390) just don't seem to get very good reviews.

Because of my budget I mainly looked at Nikon D3100, Nikon D5000, Canon 500D and Pentax K-x. I know there is Nikon D3000 and Canon 1000D and they are cheaper, but I'm not sure weather I want to go for the least sophisticated camera in case I might regret it in the future.

Now, I'm attracted to Pentax because of the price. It seems that it's almost comparable with the Nikons and Canons listed above. However I'm not sure about their lenses among other things as
a) there doesn't seems as much support for Pentax as for other cameras in my local shop (which may or may not reflect the selection on the market)
b) for example I was looking at good and cheap 50mm primes. Nikon and Canon offers them but I can't find anything as cheap for Pentax.