Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:42 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:59 am 
Hi everyone! I am a beginner to DLSR and is having trouble deciding which camera that suit my needs. After a plenty of research and taken into account of my budget, it seems my options are open to either Canon 400D or Nikon 40X.

From the exterior point of view, I definitely like the look of the 400D. However, it seems that the D40X’s menu screen is more user friendly than the 400D, but the downside is that it only has a 3 focus points whereas the 400D has 9. Does it really make a big difference in terms of the quality of pictures if it only has 3 focus points?

I think 80% of the time I will use the camera for people pictures and others will be nature and landscapes.

Let’s say if I do decide to purchase the Canon 400D, should I purchase just the body or the kit set? A major reason why I wanted to purchase just the body is because the 18-55mm kit lens does not have anti-shake feature. Gordon had recommended the Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM as an upgrade from the kit lens, however, I would like to know if there are any other brands with similar type of lens that maybe cheaper in price but is just as useful and have similar quality of pictures as the Canon 17-85mm.

There are times that I want to take some wide-angle shots (i.e. buildings, indoor, landscapes etc). Is the 17mm good enough for regular wide-angle pictures?

Thanks,

Andrew

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:59 pm 
Hello, Andrew.

For the Canon 400D + Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM you will probably have to spend around EUR 1300.