Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Noise Ninja
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 754
Having a sony a100 the one thing this cam is not so good at is noise at ISO 800 + so I have heard of Noise ninja.

Has anyone used or has this software, what is it like?

What would be the best way to ue noise ninja with adobe lightroom which is what I use for my workflow?

_________________
Tobywuk personal website || My Flickr
Gear: Sony a700! || CZ 16-80mm! || Sony 75-300 || bag: Crumpler PB xxxl / Lowepro slingshot 200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3662
I use Noise Ninja but have tried a few others as well, it's definitely the best. The easiest way to get it to work with Lightroom is to go into the preferences and set noise Noise Ninja as the external editor. You can only have two though, and I think PS is fixed as the main editor so if you've already got an external editor then you will have to replace it.

OR

Right click on image -> Open in Finder -> Open with Noise Ninja

_________________
Graham
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:24 am
Posts: 733
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Yeah, I've used Noise Ninja on a few images and it does a fantastic job. The shot below was taken at 1600 ISO. It's as good as noise free after processing it with Noise Ninja. Obviously there is still some noise but nothing that perceptible unless you look very closely. It did smooth out the texture of the wall on the main building but I can live with that.

Image

_________________
Nikon D700 | 20mm f2.8 | 28mm f2.8 | 50mm f1.8 | 70-300 f4-5.6 | SB800 | flickr | serial photography


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
grahamnp wrote:
... and set noise Noise Ninja as the external editor. You can only have two though, and I think PS is fixed as the main editor so if you've already got an external editor then you will have to replace it...


you can have many more external editors... setup them up as presets in 'edit'-->'preferences'-->'external editing' then in the 'additional external editor' sub-menu select 'choose' button next to 'application', find the application and select 'ok', then select the 'preset' drop-down menu and select 'save current settings as new preset'... name it anyway you wish... the to use the presets you created simply right click the image, select 'edit in' and choose the preset (external editor) you wish to use :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:07 am
Posts: 634
Location: US
I also have the A100, and yeah the noise problem really causes some problems. I get bad noise at ISO 400 occasionally :lol:

But to help, I also use Noise Ninja. It's a fantastic little program plug-in that I can't live without :lol:

I use it on every image. Due to the lens that I use when I do more close-up shots, I lose a lot of sharpness. (Not the best lens :lol: ) So in Camera Raw, I need to boost sharpness a lot, which in turn will cause the noise to be more visible. So to fight this, I then run it through Noise Ninja and continue editing, and my final step is to do one more light noise removal through the Ninja :wink:

_________________
-Blog- || -My Flickr-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:07 am
Posts: 172
I use it too, it does an amazing job.

It can save you from disaster :D

_________________
40D, 28-135 3.5-5.6 IS USM, 50mm 1.8 II
4GB Extreme III

My DA || My Flickr || My Metroflog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3662
Hi Thomas,

Lightroom only lets me use 2 external editors, one of which is PS and cannot be changed. I know the other one can be chosen from the list of installed programs and what I have mine set as Photomatix. What I was trying to say was that if I wanted to use Noise Ninja as my external editor, I would have to replace Photomatix as I don't have anymore "slots".

I don't see any options for presets or the ability to add more editors. Am I missing something? :?

_________________
Graham
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
i have three external editors setup through lightroom... just follow the instructions i posted above


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 2176
Location: Athens, Greece
I use noiseware pro, and Nik software's Dfine ; plugins for photoshop. Both work very well.

_________________
I've upped my Iso, now up yours.
Nikon D700, Nikon D80, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S,Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 35mm F2D, Nikon 16-35 f4 VR, Nikon 24-70mm F2.8 AF-S, Nikon 70-200VRII, Nikon 70-300mm VR, 300mm f2.8 AI IF ED, SB-800, SB-900. Noiseware pro,NIK Dfine, Nik Colour Effex, Nik Sharpener Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 12:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 754
Should Noise Ninja be used to improve noise before editing the image (croping, colour etc..) or after these alterations have been made?

_________________
Tobywuk personal website || My Flickr
Gear: Sony a700! || CZ 16-80mm! || Sony 75-300 || bag: Crumpler PB xxxl / Lowepro slingshot 200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 2176
Location: Athens, Greece
I use the noise removal plugin BEFORE the editing.

_________________
I've upped my Iso, now up yours.
Nikon D700, Nikon D80, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S,Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 35mm F2D, Nikon 16-35 f4 VR, Nikon 24-70mm F2.8 AF-S, Nikon 70-200VRII, Nikon 70-300mm VR, 300mm f2.8 AI IF ED, SB-800, SB-900. Noiseware pro,NIK Dfine, Nik Colour Effex, Nik Sharpener Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3662
I'd say after the editing.

Why? Noise reduction will always remove some of the detail in the image no matter how good the NR is.

_________________
Graham
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 2176
Location: Athens, Greece
To be frank, it doesnt really make that much of a difference, see for yourself. I just prefer to remove noise if I'm going to be any pp first, so that I can get a 'clear' idea of what colours I am dealing with, editing and so on. With noiseware pro, you can add sharpening into the noise removal process, works well, not sure if Noise ninja has that option, as opposed to using photoshop/lightrooms built in sharpening tool.

_________________
I've upped my Iso, now up yours.
Nikon D700, Nikon D80, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S,Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 35mm F2D, Nikon 16-35 f4 VR, Nikon 24-70mm F2.8 AF-S, Nikon 70-200VRII, Nikon 70-300mm VR, 300mm f2.8 AI IF ED, SB-800, SB-900. Noiseware pro,NIK Dfine, Nik Colour Effex, Nik Sharpener Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3662
I have seen it for myself, that's how I reached the conclusion. I think it depends on the kind of shot you are taking. For portraits, I don't find the loss in detail to be significant but for landscapes, completely different story.

In NR, you remove detail that simply cannot be recovered later. It's the same with contrast increases. I always add contrast as one of the last steps in PP(thanks for the tip Zorro!) because it otherwise means working on the image with clipped highlights and shadows.

_________________
Graham
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group