Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Coverting a jpeg to gif?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
How can I convert a jpeg photo into a gif image without losing image quality?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:15 pm
Posts: 397
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
I don't think you can as GIF only supports 256 different colors whereas a jpeg supports 24 millions.

_________________
D40 - Nikon 18-135mm - Nikkor 50mm f/1,8 - SB-600 flash
Nikon Coolpix L3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
Yup, a gif only supports 8 bit. So... if you had a grey scale jpeg that could convert to gif :p Otherwise you'll have to use dithering, which introduces it's own style of noise but would be lower quality at a given pixel size.

Can we ask: why gif?

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
I was afraid of that :x

@ popo. The reason is that I need it for a logo on my gallery. They say it needs to be in GIF format.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
Well... have a play with colour reduction anyway. You might be able to find a combination of settings that is "good enough". It would also depend on the image you save too, but that could go either way. A simple image might reduce more easily, but could also make the dithering more noticeable. A complex image might be harder, but at same time the the detail might hide the noise.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
I'll give that a try, thanks popo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:17 pm
Posts: 1226
Location: "Atlantic View" Bracknell, SE Berkshire, UK. 51° 25'10.42"N 0°45'41.15"W
thomasrichards wrote:
I was afraid of that :x

@ popo. The reason is that I need it for a logo on my gallery. They say it needs to be in GIF format.


On my "Fotopic" site they say that the Logo picture has to be a Gif image... but I used a Jpeg image and it was ok, whether or not they changed it to a Gif I don't know but it looks OK.

_________________
Roy
EOS 350D, 40D + BG-E2N, EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM, EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM, 430 EX Speedlite


Image

My Fotopic :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
Yeah, I was thinking earlier this evening I'll just post a jpeg as my logo. And if/when they ask me to replace it... well that's a problem for a later time 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:56 pm 
....... Photoshop...... use save as opton


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 511
Big Pix wrote:
....... Photoshop...... use save as opton


Yeah, that's what I tried, but it destroys the image quality a lot. I'll just use a jpeg image.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group