Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:51 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Picasa Vs Lightroom
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:05 pm 
Im a beginner DSLR user (from christmas day) and im looking in to photo managment software. I dont want anything to complicated as i not a profeshional and im mainly just looking for practicality for image archiving.

I have both picasa and adobe lightroom, and im just asking which you guys think is the nicest, easiest and best program to use?

I like the editing features in lightroom, but i like ethe way that picasa uses the current photo file structure already on your hard drive and makes no alterations or saves anywhere else. If i rotate a picture in the application or delete a picture i would also like the option to delete it off my hard drive also. Backing up both my pictures and settings, tags etc.. is important to me

I currently import my pictures straight into a file structure on my hard drive eg by year, then each event in there own folder. I dont want to totaly abandon this system as it is easy to backup and change what software i want to use. Also I have a windows desktop and an apple laptop so i can use this current system i have on both and not have to rely on one software package.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:01 pm 
I like picasa for pictures I want to share with my friends quick. Easy to modify the most important things and then just upload the pictures but I prefer other programs for more serious editing.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:12 pm 
further to this post, If you dont mind the price tag or get your software by other means then lightroom is fantastic. :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:03 am