Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:57 pm 
That has wet my appetite. Thanks Mark.

As an IT technician, I have never played games and this is my first camera – Canon 40D, Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L and other stuff.

Therefore, I am new to PS CS2 and HDR. What a learning curve to climb.

However, your HDR pictures and the ones on the developer’s site encourage me to learn. They look amazing.

Just bought some books and ordered some others from the library too, so I hope to get better.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:36 pm 
HDR is really cool and Photomatix Pro is a really sweet program that makes it even more fun. Photoshop does a good job, but the tonemapping in Photomatix is just excellent. I put some photos up on my Flickr to show you guys some of the one's I have made.
http://flickr.com/photos/jimhawksworth/sets/72157603524400047/show/


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 am 
are there any programs on that mac that do this?

And you black and white photo before is the before when all the three shots have been put together?

And in the black and white one how did you get the clouds to look like that?

What does HDR stand for?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
HDR stands for High Dynamic Range and you can do it on Photoshop for the Mac. Not sure about others - try googling HDR Macintosh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:04 am 
You can get photomatix for the mac... http://www.hdrsoft.com/download.html


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:08 pm 
Well I gave it a go with ChinaMark three photos and I was able to get the lighting all right but I wasn't able to give it that nice warm effect.

I try the program from pete and the beta kept crashing and the old version wasn't as easy to use as the beta, so i just thought ill give it a go in photoshop. I think ill have a look around for other programs like photomatix but I will probably end up trying photomatix again.

Edit (about 20min later)

Well i tried using photomatix again and the beat still crashed but I tried the older one and I did the tut this time and ok this program is good and I can do that warm effect that ChinaMark did. Thanks Pete

Edit (5min later)

I was messing around when I remembered that I forgot to thank ChinaMark for this excellent tut. I think this will come in handy for people that have lens that spin at the end when focusing, because instead of having one of those filter with top being dark and the bottom clear, you just take 3 photos. I like also this program has a feature to align the photos. I need to test it to see what it's like when doing free hand and see how to aligns it. Thanks again ChinaMark and pete.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:32 pm 
Gordon, I know you like your astro-photography and wondered if you'd experimented using HDR with it?

I was stumbled across this page while on my net travels and I quite liked the end result. have you tried anything like this?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi Telexstar - thanks for the link!

Stacking multiple images and different exposures is a popular technique for astro-photographers, although something I've personally not tried!

Bob's shown a few examples in the technical section though, and Cybermistic has shown us what you can do when you stack tens or hundreds of shots!

Most astro-photographers would use different stacking tools though...

Gordon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:21 am
Posts: 446
Location: San Mateo, CA.
i wish a company would build a feature into a camera that automatically take the 3 shots and HDR's it automatically.

_________________
Nikon D300+MB-D10 | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 | Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Macro | Sigma 10-20mm
18-200mm VR | 85mm f/1.8 | 50mm f/1.8 | SB-600 | Manfrotto 681B & 3232 Monopod--190XPROB & 488RC2 Tripod
flickr
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:49 am 
dryan2 wrote:
i wish a company would build a feature into a camera that automatically take the 3 shots and HDR's it automatically.


Nikon's Active D-Lighting and Sony's Dynamic Range Optimizer can do this to a certain extent.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:08 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Weeeell, they're more like using curves or levels on a single image, but I know what you mean!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:34 pm 
Mark Great Tutorial for starter!


I heard around the forum that your one of the ones to ask about HDR!

to my question, i m one of those unfortunate people but happy still running around with the D40X. And as i m aware of now the camera doesnt have the AEB. I was wondering if you had experineced HDR photgraphing without this function and what were your reuslts? Because i dont have that option on my camera i have to manualy change the exposure and i maybe can get the images in about 5 secs as teh fastes. And in enviremontes when there is alot of moment this is ceratin something that is going to look oddly, at least i think ahvent tried it yeat. Will this weekend tho, as soon as i get some free time. But have u tried to work with just one image and HDR-it?

thanx again!


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7962
Location: Germany
Graham wrote:
Nikon's Active D-Lighting and Sony's Dynamic Range Optimizer can do this to a certain extent.

As Gordon said, this is stretching the limits of one can get out of a single exposure. So never ever will a single exposure lead to the same results as exposure bracketing.
@Alex: Yes you can do single exposure post-HDRing e.g. with PhotoMatix, but the results don't have the same quality than from multiple exposures, believe me. The greatest problem being the noise that creeps into the pulled-up shadows!

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:33 am 
that looks awesome! nice work


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 4:07 am 
Guys, I need help. I use CS3 to merge into an HDR image but when I open it on Photomatix what comes out is just all black.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group