Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:37 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Photoshop, B&W and RAW?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:01 pm 
I've just been looking at some shots in my newly purchased version of Adobe CS4 Design Standard and found that when viewing B&W shots in either Photoshop or Bridge they are shown in colourm not B&W.
I'm new to Photoshop so don't know how to use it properly but I have upgraded from Elements (and have a sister in graphic design) so it's not alien to me.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong, or not doing, or is that just how PS deals with RAW files making me change to B&W in PS. Does it mean that other attributes like white balance modes are also ignored when opening in PS?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:17 am 
When you shoot RAW, the camera does not process the picture in any way, so it comes out colour, if you save RAW+JPEG, you will get a colour RAW and a B&W JPEG. That's how the camera uses Raw.

Regards

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:08 am 

The way photoshop and bridge manipulate RAW files, is by XMP files. So if you change the colours in a raw file, the raw file will not be chaged, but an XMP sidecard file will be created that contains the changes in that RAW file. Perhaps bridge does not read XMP's properly.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:32 pm 
Citruspers wrote:
The way photoshop and bridge manipulate RAW files, is by XMP files. So if you change the colours in a raw file, the raw file will not be chaged, but an XMP sidecard file will be created that contains the changes in that RAW file. Perhaps bridge does not read XMP's properly.