Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:54 pm
Posts: 19
Location: USA
I'm trying to export a 1280 x 720 video from Premiere Pro CS4, but when I go to the export dialogue box (File > Export > Media), I'm only presented with options to export as 720 x 480. I set my project to be 720P, and my project settings say the video is indeed 1280 x 720, but to no avail can I find a preset that allows me to export the native size. Does anyone know of the appropriate setting I should be using?

Thanks to all,

Derek


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9952
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi Derektoigo, I also use Premiere Pro CS4 for my video reviews, and I export almost all of them at 1280x720. The trick is to select the right preset when exporting, and adjust if necessary.

For example, I normally export into the WMV format, so I first choose Windows Media from the Format drop-down in the Export Window. Then I choose the closest preset to what I want - in this case 'HDTV 720p 25 High Quality' - this will export at 1280x720 at 25fps.

Now if my footage was shot at 25fps (or 50fps), then this would be good to go, but I film with a USA camcorder which uses 60Hz interlaced, and mix in video clips shot at 30p, so I scroll down to the frame rate setting and change it from 25 to either 29.97 or 30fps. I normally choose 29.97fps, as this is an exact match for my HDV camcorder.

Then start Media Encoder going, and come back an hour or so later depending on the speed of your computer!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:54 pm
Posts: 19
Location: USA
Ah, that makes sense. I've been messing with it somewhat and found a way, but I wasn't able to export to Quicktime as that'll export to DV only format. Since I use a Mac, I don't have the Windows Media export option (at least not without installing plugins, as far as I know), so I ended up going with the h.264 format, which allowed me to export to the size I wanted and then open it in Quicktime. I'm going to look into booting into Windows though and seeing if that makes a difference at all with the file size though, lol.

Thanks, Gordon!

_________________
2010 15" 2.4 GHz i5 MacBook Pro w/ High-Res display


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group