Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:30 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AVCHD Lite editing
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:53 pm 
There seems to be no concensus of opinion about whether Adobe Premier Pro CS4 can handle AVCHD Lite files. I have a TZ7 and want a good editing suit to create HD videos. In the review of Panasonic's TZ7 by Camera Labs (http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Panas ... C_TZ7_ZS3/) it appears that they have managed it but most people, including myself, cannot. Does anyone have any advice, please?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi Trevor, I can confirm that I use Premiere Pro CS4 to edit the AVCHD files from the Panasonic cameras I test. The experience is quite choppy even on a fast computer, but it does work. I normally drop them into a normal 720p HDV timeline to mix with my HDV footage, although you could use an AVCHD preset for dealing with them direct.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
PS - the alternative is of course to shoot in Motion JPEG instead, or to recapture AVCHD footage over HDMI into a friendlier format - I've doen that too with the Intensity Pro card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:58 pm 
Hi Gordon and many thanks for the answer. But could I ask for more detail. Which update to Premiere are you using?. The CS4 that I have used sees the files and recognises them as some version of AVCHD but will not read them. It works fine with normal AVCHD but not with AVCHD Lite. The presets arent important since I cant get it to import the files. I have tried importing them directly from the SD card and from the PC, neither work. Any suggestions, PLEASE


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi Trevor, apologies for the delay in replying - lots of things on at the moment!

I use Premiere Pro CS4 version 4.1.0.

I use an AVCHD preset for the TZ7 / ZS3 which matches the frame size and frame rate - mine was a PAL model, so I choose the 720p / 25fps option. NTSC owners should choose the 30fps option.

The MTS clips import fine, although the editing and playback within Premiere is jerky and the picture sometimes breaks up a bit - that's sadly the nature of editing AVCHD / H.264 footage it seems. BUT when you export, the quality is fine. I normally export to Windows Media for subsequent uploading to Youtube or Vimeo (ensuring you choose the same frame rate).

Note, the success or failure you have in Premiere with importing formats is also impacted by which codecs you have installed on your system. Some are necessary, while others may cause a conflict. I recently traced an annoying Motion JPEG editing problem in Premiere to an earlier installation of ffdshow for example. That one had me going for ages.

I hope to write-up some of these experiences for the hardware section in the future.

Gordon


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group