Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Mo' money mo' problems.

Lightrooms at it again, peeing me off!

Why can't the damn application just WORK!

Appologies for the large image, obviously its needed. Its only 350k so its tiny to load.

Got any ideas? Between this and the mirror image text saying "out of memory" i'm gonna flip!

Image

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
Buy a Mac :wink:

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
...arhhh I knew you would do that!!!

But my point being is, why does it work for other people?

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:31 pm 
Maybe it helps to go to EDIT>PREFERENCES>FILE HANDLING and adjust the Camera raw cache?!
I don't know, I can't find the Performance menu in LR, like in PS.

Hope it helps!

Joren


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
sorry DD..

have you tried rebuilding your catalogue and prefs

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
taken from canon forum:

"The memory leak in LR is a known problem and you're defintely not alone with this. I experience the same problem with 4GB RAM. As long as you browse through the pictures in the library module the memory usage stays about the same (220-280mb which is still way to much) but as soon as you start developing then LR start to leak badly (450mb + and climbing the more you develop).

The only solution to this problem so far is to restart LR every once in a while. You can also uncheck the option to autowrite XML files to improve that a bit."

might help.

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:41 pm 
Orsan Kart wrote:
Buy a Mac :wink:


or flush some money down the toilet straight away, that's just about as useful ;)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Brand new catalog with 350 odd JPGs

Cache is set on my 2 x 74GB 15K SAS drives which are in Raid 0. It is set at 50GB (Max)

Pagefile is also set on that drive and is set to 4GB, along with the 3GB of addressable RAM.

I have the latest NVIDIA Drivers and version of lightroom.

XML auto writes is not checked.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
Nostrum wrote:
Orsan Kart wrote:
Buy a Mac :wink:


or flush some money down the toilet straight away, that's just about as useful ;)
DD knows i was joking :D

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:13 pm 
If your getting an out of memory message .. have you checked if the windows paging file has beens et manually ..

if it has and your doing several tings at the same time and particular with gutsy programs and large images the paging file might be filling up.

depending on the amount of ram and the size of the hdd you have you can manually increase it .. or if you got quite a bit of space left on the hdd why not set it to allow windows to manage it.

that way if the file starts to fill up windows will take some of the free space on your drive to increase the virtual memory .. that way it doesn't fill up and block you

can check it here:-

right click My Computer > select properties
On system Properties click the advance tab
under Performance click on settings
Click on advance (2nd tab in )
under virtual memory click change
from here you can increase / decrease the virtual memory or select system manage size then select set
ok everything from there and hope for no more out of memory messages

:P just a thought :P


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Thiss is bizzar

Lightroom version: 2.4 [572242]
Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
Version: 5.1 [2600]
Application architecture: x86
System architecture: x86
Physical processor count: 8
Processor speed: 2.6 GHz
Built-in memory: 3063.0 MB
Real memory available to Lightroom: 716.8 MB
Real memory used by Lightroom: 88.6 MB (12.3%)
Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 212.3 MB
Memory cache size: 21.7 MB
Serial Number: - haha not telling ;)
Application folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2.4
Library Path: D:\Lightroom Test Catalog\Devine Images\Devine Images.lrcat

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:29 am 
I've got that same problem in OSX. It only affects one image and restarting does not help, I assumed the file was corrupt but I didn't really look into it but good luck finding a solution.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
grahamnp wrote:
I've got that same problem in OSX. It only affects one image and restarting does not help, I assumed the file was corrupt but I didn't really look into it but good luck finding a solution.
yeah thats sounds like a corrupted file to me, not the same issue as DD.


DD try deactivating nVidia desktop manager and see if that helps.

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 11:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Image isnt corrupt, its not the nvidia thing either since the nvidia desktop manager doesnt exist anymore. Its replaced by the nvidia control panel.

I've had this happen on an ATI x700 too so leads me to doubt it even more.

Just plain bloody weird. Hurry up with 3.0 already, make my editing enjoyable again :cry:

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
found this:

"It is a bug and Adobe are aware of it" This is the response you will get on the adobe forums.

It seems that it only occurs on PC and when developing 1:1 previews due some form of memory leak. The advise given is to restart LR when ever this happens."

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group