Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:17 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:17 pm 
Quote:
I'm not going near an ATI card haha, their drivers are useless.
Gee that was a nice quote. I have found ATI to make very good products. Please do not assume that everyone else has the same problems you do. All i was trying to say was that the gaming line of products from Nvidia has well known 2D performance issues and hence their excellent Quadro line of products, for graphics workstations.

Good luck with your issue.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Look at my name, what did you expect.

Nvidia user since the Nvidia 256 8)

Quadros are good, VERY good!


Although how does the video card aid in rendering? I wasnt sure if lightroom done that, or if XP even supported it (Although photoshop cs4 uses it)

But again, different chips, so the unless the issue is with both G8X and G9X series chips i dont understand the connection.


Its crashed once more, but I'm beating it to a pulp using both screens, 1:1 highest quality previews, and using localized editing etc.

I still dont get the EDIT bit on my localized editing and it REALLY annoys me!

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:00 am 
I'm currently using an Nvidia but after the fiasco with their mobile graphic cards (across two generations!) I'm won't be buying another for a while.

Back on topic:

How much free HD space do you have on the drive with your catalog on it DD? Mine doesn't crash but slows down significantly with less than 40% free space and the actual size of the HD seems irrelevant. I find it quite strange but all tips on how to improve the performance of LR involve freeing up disc space so I guess it's a common thing.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
is 800GB free space on the drive enough 8)

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:18 am 
i have that E6600 in my system running rock solid @3.6 ghz on aftermarket air cooling zalman 9700 it is one of the best cpus for easy overclocking jacking up the cpu voltage is pretty much the only setting i had to adjust to make it work on an asus maximus formula mobo x38 chipset i am running a EVGA 8800 gtx with no problems with LR2.2 or 2.3


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Yeah I had mine at 3.2 for ages but i got cheaper ram that isnt as good as my old stuff, but i need the 4GB now, so I've not got it oc'd

I'm gonna pick up a Q6600 G0 Stepping, soon and just clock it to 2.8Ghz, Get another TB Drive and Raid 0 is with my current one - hopefully some speed increases there.

I'd get another board and better ram but im saving for a Core i7 system.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:35 am 
yeah light room is supposed to be capable of using 4 cores so it should speed you up


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:08 pm 
Did you make sure Auto Mask is turned off? That speeds up the adjustment brushes a lot.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group