Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Clean Install of Windows XP Service Pack 3

Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
4Gb DDR-2 800Mhz
nVidia 8800GTS 640Mb

Right. I have Lightroom 2.2, Photoshop CS4 and Windows Live Installed (well, itunes, winrar, etc.) and only lightroom and windows live messenger running.

While editing tonight, the computer just ... kept dying, well not so much the computer as lightroom. Strange things from crashing while exporting too the bit with the pictures going black and only showing small portions around the mouse.


This is a clean install, how is this possible? Does it just maybe not like the 5DMkII files.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7940
Location: Germany
I have a similar setup with LR2.2 and the whole caboodle of Adobe CS4 plus, plus, plus. Only 3GB RAM but CPU is OCed to 3GHz.
No crashes so far from LR...

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9822
Location: UK
.
Judging from some of the threads on the Adobe forum you are in good company.

Check out this thread where this is offered:
    at the bottom of the File Handling tab sits a little box "Maximum Size" in the Camera Raw Cache Settings. It was set to 5.0 GB.
    I reset it to 15.0 GB and just developed 200 or more images without a freeze or crash.
Any use?

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
awch i forgot to put the cache to 50GB like I done before .. so that might help haha.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:42 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9822
Location: UK
DD_nVidia wrote:
awch i forgot to put the cache to 50GB like I done before .. so that might help haha.

I hope so, though I'd have to say that if a small cache is the cause then Adobe deserves a huge slap on the wrist for shipping a program which crashes rather than offering a user friendly warning to increase the size of the cache. Let us know how you get on, please.

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
It helped ... for a bit haha!

I'm rocking 1:1 previews, the 1680 pixel image previews, and te highest image quality.

It was using over 1.4GB of ram before it crashed.

It only has 26 photos in the library.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:14 am 
Try running a memory diagnostic on your machine. It could be that you machine has developed some faulty memory and this is causing your Adobe programs to crash.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Nope, nice brand new ram, fully checked, all fine.

Hard drive is perfect too, no bad sectors.

And it only crashes with Lightroom.

I am enabling dual screen mode, working with a constant 1:1 on one, and with the develop panel on the other.

When moving sliders it seems a bit sluggish, and you have to "wait" for the slider to stop moving, before moving on to another one or it keeps following your mouse movements. (pain!)

I'll try convince my uncle to swap me with his quad core so i can see if it helps any, or try overclocking mine again (it was set to stock since i was re-installing XP)

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
On one screen, still crashing.

Now trying to export telling me there is not enough memoy...

I still have over 1.5GB of real memory left, and another 2Gb of virtual on top of that.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:25 pm 
I just wanted to comment on the reliability of Microsoft Updates. After installing several "security fixes" on my laptop to my Windows Vista Home Premium 32x SP1, my CS4 Master Collection wouldn't install and continuously crash when installing camera raw. The same symptoms occur when installing Lightroom 2.2. I reverted my system back to before my updates and Lightroom installed fine. CS4 didn't.
The truth of the matter is that Microsoft "upgrades" your computer with a considerable amount of bloatware. While some may be useful, a substantial amount is not. Now when I start my system, I get greeted by the Security Center popup saying "Automatic Upgrades are Turned Off"
Installing Adobe products can be very circumstantial. Works once, not the next time, vice versa.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
apparently its a known problem with 2.2...especially the memory leak and crashing.

I'm gonna update to 2.3 RC on the main computer, here's hoping it will fix it


also anyone notice 2.2 the localized brush tool "edit" tab is disabled?

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:16 am 
I think it might be your nvidia card. I had a lot of trouble with my 8800GT and Lightroom. Now I use an ATI 3650 and zero issues.
If you have a spare video card laying around, try it out, especially try and ATI card. Nvidia (not quadro) are not good at 2D performance.
Sorry to hear about your troubles, I know the frustration.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:28 am 
did you get your copy of LR2 ftom pirate bay ? lol


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Priate bay is just to slow, to many leachers 8)

I've got a shop full of cards, all NVIDIA

I'm not going near an ATI card haha, their drivers are useless.

8800GT and the GTS are built on slightly different chips, the G80 and G92, plus the GT is build on 55nm not 65nm process.

So yeah different chips although closely related

I think if it was a problem with Nvidia hardware, it would be a simple fix.




ANYWAY



I Upgraded to 2.3RC on my computer, works fine, it crashed after about 2-3 hours, i can live with that, anything is better than 2-3 minutes!

On the Local Editing brush the "edit" bit where you can go back and delete or change individual localized edits...is greyed out! It was like this in 2.2 and i thought it was really strange.

Any ideas on that one?

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:13 am
Posts: 379
Location: Sale, UK
I've never had a problem with LR 2.2. Almost all my usage has been on my iMac and MacBook though using the 64-bit version.

_________________
Nikon D80, Nikkor lenses: 35mm f1.8 G AF-S DX, 50mm f/1.8 AF D, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S VR, SB800 flash
My photos on SmugMug


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group