Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: firework shots
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:00 pm 
Hi all not sure where to put this.

question is got a shot coming up next sunday with fireworks. never really shot this subject before.but im guess long exposure and high F numbers.

any hints or tips welcome.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:22 pm 
f/8 and blub mode

that how i shot these


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:25 pm 
Hi Blackrabbit,

I've taken photos of fireworks before, such as this one:
Image

I'm certainly no expert, but something around 15sec exposure, F8-11 on a tripod and all you ahve to do is stand back and enjoy..lol.

You could try longer exposures, such as 30secs or even more - that will give you even more fireworks in the one frame. But that's of course a matter of taste.

A remote shutter or the self-timer will reduce shake even more.

Good luck - hope you will share a few!

Cheers :-)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:26 am 
excellent shot Lah!

too bad with that post in the center of the shot.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:56 am 
excellent shots.
looks like i need a shutter remote also. better find one.

i dont know about using bulb on my day.As there will be a lit up castle, but it will be a fine balance not over exposing the flood lamps use to light the castle up.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:27 pm
Posts: 404
Location: Bristol, UK
Another work around is to do the following:

1. Set camera to manual;
2. Set shutter to 30sec;
3. Set aperture to f8;
4. Set self timer to shortest interval; (usually 2 seconds)
5. Then shoot.

With a black piece of card you can cover the lens and then 'expose' for fireworks you want. If you do all this on a sturdy tripod you can take several shots and combine in PS to build up the numbers of fireworks. The advantages of this is that it will reduce the noise generated by the sensor on longer exposures i.e. if you used the bulb setting.

_________________
Lee Diggle
My Astronomy Blog | My Photography Gallery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:57 pm 
Here some shot's taken with Lumix LX2, unfortunately without tripod (it was just in time on the road)

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/14886356
http://www.panoramio.com/photo/14886246
http://www.panoramio.com/photo/14886133

Bests from,


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 3:56 pm 
Gorgeus shots Jose Luis! Welocme to the forums ;)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:45 pm 
0eyvind wrote:
Gorgeus shots Jose Luis! Welocme to the forums ;)

Thank you very much, 0eyvind (by the way, your name is?)
You have also a very good galery... I'd like to see some B&W attempt from this one http://www.flickr.com/photos/29788668@N07/2787731884/
;)

I'm more Nikonian than Sonyian... her measurements are apart, despite the recurrent wrong WB issues.

I was a Minolta's enthusiast in the past, on the film era... and with some dimage 7, 7i, and A1 models.

here another technique with good results on fireworks theme.
The use of the bulb function (unfortunately I don't have it on the LX2), actually is a very important feature to shot fireworks.
With a tripod and a remote command, wait until each firework (your main subject) become all expanded.
Right on this precise moment, fire just the most small bulb time you can.
(as the lights are moving much more slowly and the target is to do not blur them as a rainbow)
Repeat the process 6 to 10 times, and see your shot.

(if you put some top of buildings or other subjects bellow your main subject fireworks, you'll see then a good combination night shot with the all main subject filled by many coloured small lights)

Greetings,


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:40 pm 
I gotta get hold of a a remote command before new years :|

That picture reminds me of how much (to me it is) i've learned about photography during my stay here at cameralabs. And how much there is to learn ;)

As you asked, my real name is √ėyvind (Norwegian) :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:08 pm
Posts: 1626
Location: New York, US
You don't necessarily need a remote, I've got one since they are so cheap and I really love it, but you could set your camera to go off in 2 seconds, If someone hasn't mentioned it already. It does make life easier, but you can do without it if you don't have time to buy one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:57 am 
I meant to use Bulb Shagrath ;)


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group