Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:51 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Frame stacking
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 7:14 am 

Hi Bob!
Your astro photos are out of this world! (no pun intended) :) Can you explain how frame stacking works? Are there specific software programs I will need or does the 40D's bundled software work? That is, the software included with the camera?
Thanx again to all you Camera labs members! You all are the best!!

Well again I have posted to the wrong forum:( Please, feel free to move it to the tech forum. Sorry :(

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 9:28 am 

Thanks for the compliment but I'm a rank amateur. One of the masters of the art is forum member Greg Parker, who goes by the name cybermystic. Have a look at some of his posts and visit his web-site and be amazed!

There are a number of programs out there. The program I use is IRIS which is free and has a strong user community. It also has a rough and quirky user interface but there is a lot of power hidden away if you spend time with it. Another program which is, I believe, well regarded is MaximDL. MaximDSLR is also available from the same company.

Bob.

P.S. Yep, I moved the post. I briefly considered the Imaging Software forum but as this question is specific to astrophotography this seems a more natural place.

Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:06 pm