Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:11 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:27 pm 
Hi,
First of all, I am an inexperienced photographer, having only owned a DSLR for about 4 months. Having said that, I am really enjoying it so far. Physics and astronomy are two things which interest me and I am quite interested in trying a bit of astro-photography. I own a Nikon D3100 with the kit lens only. (18-55)
I do not currently own a telescope, so which should I look at? I am after a budget model, but one with the ability to take astro shots.
Also, how do you go about taking the photos. I understand you need some t-mount/ring/adaptor things, but I am not really sure which I would need. I did watch Gordon's video on focusing when he used the 40D, which was helpful, but a little advanced. Also, one slight concern I have is when I take the lens off my D3100, it won't let me take photos and says "No lens attached". When it is connected to a telescope, will this still be displayed as the telescope is technically not a lens. And finally, if there is anything else I should know before I start, please please tell me! Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much for helping out a newbie :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:41 pm 

Ranald wrote:
When it is connected to a telescope, will this still be displayed as the telescope is technically not a lens

That's actually not true. As long as an object can converge light into your camera, it can be called a lens. The telescope is basically a manual focus lens for the body. The error message you're getting is probably down to a mechanical failsafe triggering that error message. The adapter to connect to the camera ought to override that, allowing you to take photos.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:08 pm 
Site Admin