Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Hi Guys,
Had a go at some star trails, i only managed to get one, as it clouded over! I used my 40D with 50mm f/1.8 on a tripod! I am going to try again when the cloud clears or another night! Its a 721 second exposure (12 mins) at f/5.0! Any C&C and advice for the future would be appreaciated!

Image


Thanks

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7997
Location: UK
I drove home from family tonight and the sky was clear so was wondering what to do. When I got home the cloud had moved in. Typical...

Looks like you don't have much light pollution there, so can afford more exposure with a bigger aperture. That would help the fainter stars be picked up. I assume the patterns on the trails are due to faint cloud moving by.

Might also consider using the wider angle to get more sky, maybe frame it with something in foreground.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Thanks, yeh the cloud is really annoying, i think that was the culprt! Next time i might use maybe a wider lens and include some land! I am lucky because i live in the countryside :D So the nearest city is approx 15 miles away!
Thanks

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:04 pm
Posts: 945
may i just ask, what's the maximum exposure on the 40d and 400d?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
30 sec or bulb (when your battery runs out :wink: )

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:04 pm
Posts: 945
could i read about this somewhere? i can't seem to find this option anywhere...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Right well bulb, basically means that the shutter is open for as long as you hold down down the button! Shutter release will help you there! Or also you could be makeshift and use some sellotape :wink: ! Like me!

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Oh to enable bulb mode, set camera to manual (M) and go through the shutter speeds until it says BULB!
Thanks

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:04 pm
Posts: 945
thanks for the quick answer =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:27 pm
Posts: 404
Location: Bristol, UK
Good attempt here, although it seems a little dark, i.e. there does not appear to be much in the way of stars, is this due to the cloud? The trouble with one single exposure is the noise that becomes apparent thus limiting you on how much you can push the exposure in PS. What ISO did you have the camera at?

In the past I have gone upto 800, but I use a different technique where I let the camera take 100 or so 30sec exposures one after the other.

Try reading these threads that I have posted on my technique

Star Trails

Star Trails

Star Trails Take 2

Star Trails Take 3

I have been meaning to write a guide on this, as promised to Gordon. I will try and do this after my exams on the 12th Jan. In the mean time, if you need anything else clarifying feel free to let me know.

_________________
Lee Diggle
My Astronomy Blog | My Photography Gallery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:31 pm
Posts: 2439
Location: Brunei & Soon in Bristol UK
podgeorge wrote:
Right well bulb, basically means that the shutter is open for as long as you hold down down the button! Shutter release will help you there! Or also you could be makeshift and use some sellotape :wink: ! Like me!


Why sellotape I could use Duct tape instead :lol:

But don't take it for granted I don't want to strip out the shutter button :shock: that would be a serious curse

When using Bulb mode I usually use to hold the shutter button through the body sadly this will create blur which will ruining my masterpiece :x . the best solution would be use wireless remote shutter button ( but pricey) just sit back just hold the button lightly 8)

_________________
Soon.....Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:27 pm
Posts: 404
Location: Bristol, UK
See, I dont have a remote or cable release so I am limited to 30 sec exposures. Hence why I use my intervalometer and stack photos (plus there is a host of other benefits)

_________________
Lee Diggle
My Astronomy Blog | My Photography Gallery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group