Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:47 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:07 am 
This is my first attempt at photographing an air show. All pictures were taken from the Oak Street beach in Chicago, IL while observing the air show with about 2 million other people! Any CC or feedback would be appreciated :oops: I'm not sure about the cropping of the photos or exposures? I have many more but these are a few of the images that I liked. I took over 700 pictures and a little more than 50 came out as keepers. I was struggling with the settings and the planes were not easy to frame when flying at more than 400mph so close by?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:07 am 
hmm from what i can tell the white balance needed to be set...

i would put the lot of them through photoshop's auto levels...

you should be good after that, unless it disfigures your shots in some sort of way.

resizing them would also help.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:22 pm 
2nd to last on eis my fav.

:D

nice shots

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 6:47 pm 
Think they are very good for your first attempt, I like No's 1, 4 and 9 best.
If you are interested in "Fast Jets" have a look at these websites
http://fastjets.co.uk/
http://www.lowfly.net/index.html
http://www.warplane.co.uk/index.htm
Some good tips on what you need Camera, Lenses and Clothes on Lowfly.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:34 pm 
I just got to thinking - they look very much bigger than usual. Look at the pilots, they're tiny! Really. The planes look a lot bigger tahn those you see on tv where they interview a pilot next to them.

And i was wondering about how you got pictures of them really? Because i tried when some flew over my city a few days ago - not easy :o

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 10:57 pm 
OMG :shock: