Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:01 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Equipment advice
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:21 am 
Hi everyone,

I'm a keen motorsport photographer, albeit a newish one. Having to buy the camera meant that at the time I didn't have much cash left over for lenses, although I've got a bit more cash available now and was considering improving on my "budget" gear. However, I don't know what would make the most difference.

Here is my current gear.
    Nikon D40
    18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX
    55-200mm f/4.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR
    70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF (manual focus only with D40)

I can't make my mind up what I should be going for. Should I go for a prime fixed focal length or a decent zoom, or a zoom with a teleconverter, etc. etc.

I hear the ED glass is very nice. In some ways I wish there were fewer choices so that it would make the decision easier. So really, I'm looking for any suggestions that anyone might have. I've got a monopod so stabilising isn't essential but would be nice. Also would like the lens to have a SWM motor so that I can use the autofocus.

Would appreciate any advice or words of wisdom.

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:00 am 

You could sell the 55-200 and the 70-300 and buy a 70-200 f/2.8 VR.

70-200 is a good lens for anything.

After buying the 70-200, maybe something like a 300 f/2.8 or a 400mm f/4 or f/5.6 fixed would be good.

Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 3:33 pm 
DD_nVidia wrote:
You could sell the 55-200 and the 70-300 and buy a 70-200 f/2.8 VR.

that would be a TOTAL waste of money if he already has the 55-200 VR
dont you think so?
dont think the few f stops are important... but that's just me.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:20 pm