Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:48 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:43 pm 

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum and more importantly I'm new to the world of DSLR. I shoot with a Canon 450d.

I was wondering if someone could advise me on what type of telephoto zoom lens people would recommend. I have been reading some great reviews regarding the canon L series 70-200mm lens. However in both cases there has been good and bad reviews for each of the IS and non IS versions. I think getting the f2.8 version is out of the question as that is way too exspensive, so I was more focussing on the canon 70-200 L mm 4.0 (IS and non IS) versions.

In addition, if people have other lens recommendation, I'm more than happy to hear about them.

I look forwward to hearing your thoughts and recommendations.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards

N

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:43 am 

Hello Kunapan

I was in the same boat as you , and made up my mind on the 70-200 f/4 IS . Why's that ? Well I got several reasons :

_Firstly : this lens is weather sealed , not the non IS one.
_Secondly : I figured that I needed the IS ( up to 4 stops on this model ) since i don't bring my tripod everywhere.
_Thirdly : it's a bit better than her 2.8 sister past f/4.0 in image quality .

I really think the IS version is worth its price and I'm sure it won't leave your camera when you get it :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:33 pm 

Go for the IS. You really need it on telephoto lenses... and its easier to resell if you ever decide to sell it. In my local area there are three or four f/4 non IS versions on the market, but only one IS model.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:04 am 

Tomis wrote: