Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:21 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Need some tips
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:42 pm 

I am fairly new to photography, but have done tons of research regarding different shooting situations, but one particular situation has me baffled. I have been trying to get some good shots of my daughter during her basketball games, but the shots have all been less than desireable. When boosting the ISO high enough to allow enough light in to make the picture recognizable, the noise levels raise so high the picture is not worth saving. When adjusting the shutter speed fast enough to stop the action, it is too dark. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Do I need a different lens possibly? Here are a couple of shots from last night's game.

The second picture has been brightened quite a bit more than the first in photoshop, but both show increased noise. Is there a better way to shoot in this situation, or do I just need to learn to live with the results? Thanks.

www.BrianSellsBrownCounty.com

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:51 pm 

Which lens are you using for those pictures?
As I see, the problem is that you're shooting indoors, with limited light, a very difficult situation to shoot.
You could use a faster lens (like the 70-200 f/2.8 ). That would definitely help. Maybe you could use a long range external flash to help you freezing action.
I myself don't like bumping the ISO up. The noise is always terrible (but you can turn on Noise Reduction on Custom Functions).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:56 pm