Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:25 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 2:29 am 

Greetings all,

I just joined this forum. Been a regular reader of Gordon's site, which is what led me here.

I'm an emphatically amateur camera enthusiast. I don't even dare call myself a photographer.
I've been using a Canon PowerShot A1000is point & shoot pocket camera.

I have mainly used it to record video of myself performing (I'm a working stand-up comedian).
After four years of almost daily use, my Canon finally died on me.
I have used Nikon as well as Sony P & S cameras, and I find them user-hostile. I find Canon cameras to be user-friendly, intuitive, and easy to use.
So, I'm going to stick with Canon.

The dilemma is: which model?

I'm looking to upgrade to something that can offer better quality pictures & video. I'm spending more time on the road, and I like to keep a photo journal of where I've been, the people I meet, etc.

I have contacted Canon Canada for suggestions as well. So far, I've been impressed with their advice & patience.

But I also want to get an unbiased & objective opinion.

I thought of getting an SLR, or a "quasi" SLR like the PowerShot SX50 HS or the PowerShot SX510 HS. However, they're a little too bulky to travel with. It's not something I'd be comfortable leaving unattended in a club while performing.

These are the criteria I'm looking for:

1) I am very accustomed to the “ring” as featured on cameras like the S120 or my deceased PowerShot A100is. To me that ring is essential. It’s one of the key features that make Canon cameras so user-friendly.
2) A durable battery life

As for video:

3) The primary use of the camera will be video. I need full HD (1080). Of course, still pictures will also be key.
4) Ability to shoot video in low-light conditions