Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:33 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:02 pm 

Hi everyone. While I read a lot of reviews and tips, this is my first time posting to the forum and I appreciate any help you all can offer.
We have had the Canon 60D for a few years now and have collected some lenses over that time frame beyond the kit lens it came with - a fisheye lens to help capture wider frames, the f/1.4 50 mm, a 100mm macro, and the 70-200mm f/4. We love traveling to unique places with cool landscapes and wildlife, so that has had a big influence on our choices.
But, our focus has recently shifted as we now have a little boy who, at 7 months, is about to be on the move. While the 50 mm lens takes great portraits, we're looking for something more versatile. If we have to switch between lenses, we risk missing out on the big moments. For that reason, my husband has been using the kit lens, but it's horrible in low-light/indoor situations.
So, can anyone provide me with a recommendation for an everyday go-to lens that can capture these precious moments? I don't really have a budget in mind so I'm open to anything.
Thanks for your help!
Shannon

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:23 pm 

I'd recommend the Sigma DC 17-70mm 2.8-4 OS HSM as it offers a wider range than the 18-55mm and it gets pretty much more light.

The Canon 15-85mm might have a better image quality and an even better range but it's much more expensive and doesn't let more light in.

Canon EF 28-80mm 3.5-5.6 USM + EF 24-105mm 4L IS USM + EF 100-400mm 4.5-5.6L IS USM + EF 50mm 1.8 II + EF 100mm 2.8L Macro IS USM + Sigma 12-24mm 4.5-5.6 EX DG HSM + Canon Speedlite 580 EX II + Nissin Speedlite Di 466

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:39 am 

scblions wrote: