Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:53 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Ontario, Canada
Hi,
I've had the SX30 awhile, I'm very happy with it overall... but I'd love it to have some kind of shutter remote -- even wired -- for some photo things I want to do. Anyone know if there's a wired remote that works, of some easy DIY thread that actually works to build one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 920
Location: Kanduhar, Afghanistan
RS60 E3 is the Canon cable remote

_________________
Mike "The Squirrel"
Canon 550D | Canon EF 35mm 1:2 | Canon 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 18-125mm DC OS | Tamron SP 70-300mm Di VC USD | Canon 430EX II
Military Issued Canon 40D | Canon 55-250mm IS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:53 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Ontario, Canada
yah, not compatible tho.... need mini USB input


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:53 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Ontario, Canada
would this trigger with CHDK?

http://www.amazon.com/Vello-ShutterBoss ... tter+VELLO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:53 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Ontario, Canada
or better this?
http://www.amazon.com/Vello-RS-N2-Remot ... tter+VELLO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon SX30 - remote?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:49 am
Posts: 56
Location: Portsmouth
I dont know if Nikon use mini USB for the remote looks like a diffrent shape, I would check that up a bit more, also If i were you go on to the CHDK forum and ask them. I think with the CHDK you can only have shutter speeds up to 60 seconds, (twice the canon default) and my canon Ixus 100is hasn't got a bulb mode which would be the only point in having a cable release. Because surely you could just set the shutter speed, put it on timer mode, press the button and in 10 seconds all wobble should have stopped.

_________________
Cameras: Canon Ixus 100is. 60D 17-85mm
Computer: 2008 Apple Macbook Aluminum (dreaming of a new retina macbook pro!!)
Phones: iPhone 1g And HTC Wildfire Apple iPad 3 wifi
http://www.flickr.com/photos/gareththomasjones/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group