Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:10 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 4:55 am 

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if someone could help me with this decision. I bought a Canon Rebec T3I in August and I am learning how to pull away from the automatic mode but I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination. I would like to purchase a telephoto lens. I was looking at the 55mm-250mm with stabilizer and the 75mm-300mm without the stabilizer. Which one would be better for me? I was told on one hand that because I am not an expert with the Manual modes that the stabilizer would be better for me. Someone else mentioned that since I want to shoot dance recitals and stuff at Disney World that all move a stabilizer would be useless and that the 75mm-300mm would be better. My preference is split between the two. I like the fact that one lens goes to 300mm but then I do like the stabilizer on the other end. I would really appreciate some guidance please.

Thanks! JPLD

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:29 am 

My personal perfference is always having Image stabilisation for a lens that is designed for telephoto.

Sometimes for a bright sunny day, IS wont be much of an issue, but if you have to start moving, or if the light starts to decrease, IS becomes more and more important.

If you still use Automatic, IS wont be an issue until the images you shoot start showing up as too dark, and the fastest way to maintain the right exposure or brightness is the lower the shutter speed and IS becomes, imo, essential.

IS obviously isnt going to save all your images, and thats when manual modes and knowing what to change and when becomes more important but if you are starting, my recomendations is to always aim to get IS lenses until you are comfortable shooting still.