Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:20 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:16 pm 

I'm sure this has been asked before but I don't know how to phrase this in the search. I'm new to DSLR of course. I'm in Afghanistan right now and having a new T2i sent home to be waiting for me. When I go on vacation I'll be visiting my dad and he has an OLD canon 35mm. I know it is old because I remember trips as a kid in my single digits and I'm almost 37 now. He has some nice glass one I remember is a BIG tele-photo. I don't remember the specks and I'm sure that would help a lot in asking if they would work together. I googled old canon zoom lenses and I found a pic of a 85-300 that looks like it, but it has been 20-yrs since I've seen it. If they work together, besides crop factor (which I still don't fully understand) is there any other issues I may have. I'm pretty sure there is no auto-focus which would suck. I hope it works, I remember being at the lake and taking good pics of ducks on the other side from where we were.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:26 pm 

The first thing I'd find out is whether the lens has the same mount type as your camera i.e. EF. I've never heard of an 85-300mm Canon EF lens so it may be an older lens mount, in which case you will need an adapter.