Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:10 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:47 pm 
The point of this thread is to ascertain the optimum settings of the Canon 40D instead of leaving everything default "out of the box”.

Professionals say that the 40D can be used "out of the box" the ID 3 cannot, or should not.

But it would be nice to know that we have our new Canon 40D’s configured optimally.

I’m sucking this information in like a sponge so I was just looking for some clarification.

Incidentally, Defiance and I did answer the PS CS3 RAW issue and sRAW issue.

Highlight Tone Priority (HTP) is recommended by the professional photographers that frequent eos-forums.com but there will be occasions where the professional will know when not to use it. I'm not a professional and although some may state that settings should not be set willy nilly, I will go with the general consensus to keep it on until I understand it in more detail. If I believe there are situations where it is ill advised to use it I will disable it.

Member of eos-forums.com say, that if you only set one setting set this to enabled . However, there will be others that state otherwise.

"The Canon 40D introduces a new feature to improve highlight detail. This has always been a weak point of digital versus film cameras: digital cameras do ugly things the instant highlights get even a little out of control. There is no shoulder as we have in film.”

“Canon cryptically calls this "Highlight Tone Priority," which makes no sense in English. Setting this mode extends the highlight dynamic range. The 40D only operates from ISO 200 to ISO 1,600 in this mode."

"...this feature does help preserve brilliant highlights, but it's not a big deal."

"…leave this mode activated all the time. You can't get to ISO 100 while you're in it."