Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:58 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:44 pm 
Hi, everyone was really helpful with my first post and i came to the decision of buying a Canon EOS 400D as my first DSLR!

However... as my parents are buying the camera, they have offered to pay the bit extra for a 40D and a lens, if i were to buy my own lenses with the money i get from my new part time job.

Naturally i said YES, but i just wondered if i would be able to use a 40D as easily, being a complete beginner, as i'll be teaching myself as i go kind of thing. Also, has anyone got an idea about what kind of lens would be good general lens to get with it until i earn enough to expand my collection. I will be using it for family stuff and general 'obsessed picture taker' stuff to begin with if that helps?

any suggestions will be appreciated!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:52 pm 

retrofire wrote:
...I just wondered if i would be able to use a 40D as easily, being a complete beginner...

In my opinion it is easier to use than the 400D. :shock: More options can be changed without delving into the menus and it still has the various scene presets (landscape, portrait etc.) which mean you don't have to get "hands on" with aperture and exposure settings until you are ready.

After handling both cameras to make sure there are no major comfort issues and if it's in budget I would say "go for it" as you are very unlikely to outgrow the 40D quickly whereas with the 400D... :wink:

Bob.

P.S. Hope you don't mind my moving your post but now that you have settled on a Canon I think you will get the best response here.

Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:50 pm