Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:15 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:45 am 
I am going to get the Canon Rebel XTI 400D and it comes with the 18-55mm and/or the 17-85mm IS.
I was looking to pick up a telephoto lens.
I am new to photography and don't know alot about lenses

What is a good all around lens?

Thanks for any and all help.
Nick.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:33 am 
Site Admin

Hi Nick, welcome to the Cameralabs forums - I moved your post here as it'll get a greater response.

Tell us what your budget is and what sort of things you want to take pictures of with a telephoto. For example, if you want it for sports, you'll need one with quick focusing...

Gordon

Post subject: Lenses
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:32 pm 
Thanks

I am going to be taking shot of ladscapes, wiled life, architecture, and panoramic. the camera kit I am getting is $1000 US. and comes with the 15-55mm and a 78-300mm. neither have the image stabilizer, and the 300mm I don't think will be strong enough for the windlife shots.
right now I can spend only about $550 on a lens.

thanks again.

Nick

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:59 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Nick, I presume you mean the 18-55 and 75-300mm lenses? Sorry to be pedantic, but there are differences in the models if you get a few mm incorrect!

A 75-300mm is already considered to be a telephoto, and remember when you put it on an XTi / 400D, you'll effectively multiply everything by 1.6 times. So I think 300mm will be enough for most wildlife apart from birds or bears! Anything more powerful will begin to cost quite a lot, although you may want to check prices of some Sigma models as they can be quite affordable.