Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:26 am 
1ST- what is RAW? i have this thing called raw for my image size on my camera what asactlly is this RAW thing?

2ND- TV mode i set it to 0 and i take a picture and it comes out PURE black, even if its +2, but works fine with flash..., why is it so dark and how could i change it?

help please..
thanks..


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:54 am 
Hi 1exotic.
1. RAW is an unprocessed picture. It means that the camera writes to the card the pixels as the sensor "sees" them, without any post processing. So you can make the processing afterwards using Canon 3rd party software. Post processing includes ISO, WB etc.
2. Where do you take the picture? What are the settings? In Tv mode you set the shutter speed, what speed is the camera set on? If it's very fast and you're shooting a scene which is not bright enough, you will have a black photo.

Liron.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:40 am 
OHHHH okay

my shutter speed is 1/4000 :wink:

thats why, thanks!


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:12 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9833
Location: UK
Hi 1exotic,

Just a "heads up" to say I've moved this topic into the Canon forum as its title refers to the Canon Rebel XTi.

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 8:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi 1exotic, Tv mode may let you choose the shutter speed, but for a balanced exposure, you'll still need enough light. Even with the aperture wide open and the ISO increased, there may not be enough.

My advice would be to stick with P (Program) mode for the time being. Or use Aperture Priority mode (Av) and open the aperture to its widest setting (smallest f-number). The camera will then select the fastest shutter speed possible under your current conditions. if you wnat a faster shutter still, try increasing the ISO, but be aware your quality will reduce as this goes up.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group