Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:54 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Advice for Portrait lens
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:47 am 
Hi everyone,

It might sound silly question but being a newbie I am sort of confused :-(

I have finally purchased 400d body and now am hunting for lens. I have decided that I will go for portrait lens first to play with and then will go for standard zoom/short telephoto lens.

I have read reviews and have short listed the following 2:

Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 XR Di ll LD Aspherical (IF) and Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II

I know that canon is prime and tamron is zoom but what are the other differences? or which out of 2 is better for portraits or am I comparing apples to oranges?

Sorry if my question is stupid :-)

Regards,
Harry

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:05 am 

Hello Harry,

Not a silly question at all. Of the two lenses that you've listed I've only had experience with with the 50mm f/1.8. It was a fine lens and would be my choice, but there are other great lenses to choose from that are inexpensive. The first of which would be the 85mm f/1.8 and secondly the EF-s 60mm macro. They are both around $350. Do a search on pbase and you'll see some photographers taking great portraits with both.

It may seem strange to use the 60mm macro as a portrait lens, but it has great optics and offers beautiful bokeh. The 85mm will also offer great optics as well as that creamy bokeh you want for portraits.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:44 pm 
Hi SeattleSteve,

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate it.

I went to my local shop here who are dealers for canon optics, cameras etc. The salesman over there adviced me to go for 17-85mm canon lens instead as it has IS and USM and covers almost all the focal ranges i.e. from wide to short telephoto.