Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:02 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:38 pm 
This latest review is an improvement on what already was a very high standard.

I liked the practical examples and the demo on the software.

Congrats!

PS: I was going to make some kind of remark about the shirt, but now that I think about it, I was so absorbed with your presentation, I haven't even noticed if you were wearing a new one or not! It was that good.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: .
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:47 pm 
Gordon when I shoot in RAW, is there a software you would recommend that I could easily print the size of photo I want using the RAW picture?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9962
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Luis, it was a different shirt to most of the previous videos!

Roger, I'm not sure what you mean... Canon supplies its own DPP software for converting RAW files and it does a good job, although some prefer other tools. Photoshop's RAW converter is very good, but doesn't yet support the 40D...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Canon 40d operation
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:48 am
Posts: 3
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Hi:
I have just joined this forum and look forward to contributing.
I tough have a question on Gordon's video on the 40D, it is this. In live view is the histogram available prior to taking a shot or is it only present after an exposure has ben made.
Thanks for any clarification.
Secondly I now understand that Adobe's raw converter for the 40d is now available in lightroom.
mhenville


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Canon 40d operation
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9805
Location: UK
mhenville wrote:
In live view is the histogram available prior to taking a shot or is it only present after an exposure has ben made.

If it is available in Live View prior to capturing the image I can't get to it. Of course, pressing the Info button after an image has been captured works irrespective of whether Live View was used or not. If it's an issue then it is the work of just a few seconds to capture a preliminary image and look at the histogram on that.

By the way, not my place to say it but "welcome to the forum".

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9962
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi mhenville, in it's wisdom, Canon has a habit of disabling many features as standard and only letting you enable them by delving into various menus. For example, Live View, AF in Live View, 3200 ISO, and wait for it, live histograms in Live View.

If you want to see a live histogram, you need to enable 'Live View exposure simulation' in custom function IV-7. (Bob, give it a shot!) Then you can switch it on and off in Live View by pressing the Info button. You can see a demo of this in the video tour.

It's crazy they hide this stuff away in my opinion, but at least the 40D has a live histogram option. Nikon haven't bothered with the D300...

Gordon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9805
Location: UK
Gordon Laing wrote:
If you want to see a live histogram, you need to enable 'Live View exposure simulation' in custom function IV-7. (Bob, give it a shot!) Then you can switch it on and off in Live View by pressing the Info button...

Thanks Gordon - it works. Now my "Live" is complete. :roll:

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:48 am
Posts: 3
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Thanks Gordon
Canon sure make it heavy work to find all their camera's functions.
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group