Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:36 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: bird photography
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:26 pm 
hi all i need some help and tips, basical;ly i will be spending a day at a falconry center taking pictures of the birds they have and need some tips and advice to get the best shots from the equipment I have.
I have
sony a390
tamron 70-300(cheaper version)
sony 18-70
tripod

i plan on taking some static shots and flying shots so any help or advice on how i can get the best from my current equipment would be great as i am a novice at this but would like to capture some shots of owls and hawks in flight.

many thanks
james

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:36 pm 

If the center is small or enclosed, you probably don't need a lot of zoom - either lens would be about equal - if larger, the zoom will probably help you more - though how much daylight you have will affect your performance as neither lens is particularly fast. The zoom could be good for closeups too.

In general, the tripod probably won't do much good - birds don't sit too still, so long exposures are out, and you don't have any really heavy lenses that couldn't be handheld - I'd think you're best just handholding and maintaining maximum movement and flexibility.