Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 7:57 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 5:16 am 
I have a D90 and took my 70-300mm 4.5/5.6 vr lens to the zoo recently but upon coming home i was not impressed or happy with my final images ;(

F/5.6
1/320
iso 160

I posted a few on flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bills_d90/ ... 988268928/

I am still new to photography and am experimenting with different shutter speeds, iso and aperture settings, I am trying hard to stay in manual and learn vs going into one of the preset modes, but no matter what I tried it seemed I just wasn't able to dial things in for a solid sharp shot.

I was using single point focus hand held on the camera using the vr mode, and trying to stay aimed on the animals eye area, in the camera i had even upped the sharpness output as I felt the images were a bit dull from the lcd, confirmed once home too on pc.

I wasn't using a tripod or monopod but was using the cameras VR, in general most shots turned out but none were stunning images, I was hoping out of 100+ shots to get one or two really good sharp ones but all turned out like this one, nothing special lacks sharpness etc.

would a monopod help? Am i just not upping the shutter speed enough?

Any suggestions and or help appreciated, I have a zoo pass for the year and am hoping to go back and take more soon and will be trying to improve each time I go.

Bill

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 6:45 am 
Here's a couple of comments that would help you out in achieving "sharp" photos.

All lenses perform best when stopped down. The general rule seems to be 2-stops down from the maximum aperture, though this varies from lens to lens. In your case, the 70-300mm has a maximum aperture of f/5.6. You'll get better if you stop down to f/8 and f/11.