Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:30 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:31 am 
I am not sure if an indoor Dingo is considered a pet or wildlife...but the results are the same. She won't stop moving long enough for a clear photo.

I am new to photography. I just got my first camera that is beyond a low end point and shoot...it is a Canon SX20 IS. I see I have a lot to learn, and hope to get a little help. I was having trouble with focus, so ended up setting the focus, and then waiting until she was the same distance again to take the picture. I used the shutter speed setting and set it to 1/50. I tried slower, but she was blurred on almost every one of them. The final results seem grainy with bland coloring. Is this because of the lack of light available? Or do I need to learn my controls better?

Naturally, all criticism will be used for better photos. I already acknowledge that the backgrounds are terrible here.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:53 am 

you're gonna need a faster shutter speed. I'd say at least 200 for a twitchy dingo :)

if you are completely new to photography you may want to spend some time reading these forums and also look at gordon's tutorials for some basics.

Also... there is nothing wrong in shooting in program or auto mode til you get the hang of things.. pay attention to what the camera pics for settings and use those as guidelines under similar circumstances... after that.. prractice practice and practice soem more... and of course... ask a lot of questions.... ppl here are very friendly and more than willing to help you out :)