Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:23 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:09 pm 
Hi,

I did my first photoshoot last week with a good friend of mine, she was willing to help me and it was a nice trip out. I've found that i'm not very good with directions, so I generally told her to stand and look natural. I think it turned out nice! The first photo was in the May Assignment, so some of you may recognise it. All straight out of the camera with a few adjustments to levels and the usual resize+sharpen for the web.

Here's the shots:

Kind Regards,
Jack

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:57 pm 

Jack, Jack, Jack! I really love every last one of these man!

I really like the last one a lot, love the colors, but in number 3, your model there looks a little stoned. But I do love the colors.

Jake

my Blog
"Photography isn't so much about the results as it is the collective experience, your interactions with people and with the world"

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:03 pm 
Jack,

Thanks for sharing your images with us. Let me give you a precis of what I found.

Image 1: It's definitely thoughtfully composed, and the exposure is perfect. What I'd query is why a central framing (I'd have gone with a third line), and the relevance of the sign to the subject.

Image 2: The warm white balance works, whether it be intentional or not. It's another central framed image, which doesn't work here. The pose is also seemingly unnatural to my eye. For these reasons, I'm not sure what to recommend on this one.

Image 3: Much better than image 2. The pose still feels a little forced (i.e. static) to my eyes. There are some good textures around her to keep interest. For a more dynamic image I'd have instructed her to look over her right shoulder.