Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:52 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: First portrait.
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 6:06 pm 
I am quite new to photography, got my first SLR a few months ago.

Took a pic of my Son the other day,

i dont use pc editing software yet, (as i dont own any)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:07 pm 

If, by chance, I'm in a situation where I don't have my desktop/laptop with me to edit images, PIXLR.COM is a free online image editor that you could use. O'course, not as sophisticated as Photoshop, but it can get some simple tasks done. Good 'playground' to practice in.

Yungnuo YN560 + YN560ii (x2) + Cactus V4

WISHLIST: 300 f/2.8
FORMER: Canon 5D + 40D + 450D + 18-55mm + 28-135mm + 50 f/1.4 + 100 f/2.0

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:38 pm 

A good free alternative to PS is Gimp, the free software has many features of Photoshop. GIMP is the GNU Image Manipulation Program
I like the portrait however IMO the vertial bar at the right side distracts slightly :)

--- Canon EOS 60D --- Canon EOS 5D MkI --- EF 17-40mm f/4 USM --- EF 70-200mm f/4 USM --- EF 50mm f/1.8 --- Canon Speedlite 430EX II --- Yongnuo YN-560 II Speedlight --- Yongnuo YN622 triggers --- GoPro Hero 3 Black edition ---

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:52 pm 
thx for the input guys,

i'll give the free editing software a go, i think this pic would benefit from a little crop to remove the bike handlebars and the garage to the right. :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:23 am 
The image lacks depth and is extremely soft. You could try shooting on Manual to get more desirable results that would expose the subjects face properly which may require you in the beginning to shoot only in shaded areas. Try to stay out of sunlight unless completely necessary.

Post subject: