Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:22 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:22 pm 

I'm pretty new to photography as a hobby, up to this point I've been doing mostly snapshots from my point and shoot. Years ago I had a roomate that was an avid hobbyist (before they even had digital cameras) and he showed me some of the basics but that was so long ago I consider myself a fresh and green photograhper.

These are just a couple of shots that I took that I liked better than the others that day. The images are straight out of the camera, shot in .jpg mode with no post processing. I'm looking forward to editing my shots and also shooting in RAW mode as time goes on, but hey . . . one thing at a time here! :)

Let me know what you think, remember . . . new guy here! :lol:

This was a shot on a snow day (Rare in TN!) my daughter had a blast, and dad had a fun time playing with his new camera. The sky was overcast and I liked the way it softened up the pictures, but maybe it made everything a little less "vibrant" than it should have been?

I shot almost all the photos that day in Aperture Priority. I was trying to mess with blurred backgrounds and such in an attempt to have the subject be the focus of attention. This was prior to my purchase of a Nifty Fifty, and the kit lens has a minimum f/stop of 3.5 so I think I could have had some better shots with my 50mm 1.8 II. EXIF data is included on the flickr links.

IMG_1020.JPG by Rudboy66, on Flickr

More of the same here, I like the way she is looking at the camera.

IMG_1084.JPG by Rudboy66, on Flickr

A profile shot, the snow falling was kind of neat I thought.

IMG_1081.JPG by Rudboy66, on Flickr