Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:01 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:38 am 
My wife and I are planning on travelling for 9 months or so in 2008 and I was wondering what essential kit people would recommend I should consider.

I've just entered the DSLR world so I'm very much learning the ropes. For want of a better term; I'm a newbie and I don't know what I should take! :)

Over Christmas I bought a Nikon D80 with the Nikkor 18-135mm lens as I thought it would be a good general purpose lens for wide and basic tele shots (I don't really want to be hulking several lenses around the world with me). Obviously, space will be at a premium and I wanted to pick the brains of anyone who has already done something similar to learn from any mistakes/situations you may have encountered.

I'm not sure if the specific locations are going to make any difference to this but I'll share anyway in case it does. Our proposed destinations are;

Japan
Laos
Cambodia
Vietnam
Peru
Berlese
and I'm sure we'll end up squeezing New Zealand into all that...

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Ben

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:05 am 
Site Admin

Hi Ben, that sounds like a great trip! I've visited several of thsoe countries and there are loads of fantastic photo opportunities. Luang Prabang in Laos and Halong Bay in Vietnam really stand out, even if they are quite touristy...

It's a great question too:

Before even discussing equipment or locations though, I'd say have a good think about storage. You can take a lot of photos during a nine month trip and you'll want to ensure 1: you don't run out of memory, and 2: you don't lose any of your pictures.

The forthcoming third part of our 'backup your photos' series is all about this, but here's a couple of quick thoughts in the meantime!