Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:43 pm 
Firstly, hello, I'm Richard, novice at photography, but eager to learn.

I'm just starting to get the hang of S2000HD and I am pretty much always shooting in manual mode now.

I have managed to get some decent shots of sunset and so I thought I would give the moon ago. I can get it in focus, using a tripod, ISO 100-200 and messing about with the shutter speed and aperture. But all I get is the moon, no other detail, such as cloud. I know the ISO is low, but I don't want too much noise.

Anyone got any tips?

P.S. I'll post a sample when I have read the rules about putting pictures up.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8028
Location: UK
The moon, particularly when full, is brighter than you think. If the moon surface details can be seen, then it is normal for everything else to look dim. If you make everything brighter to show up clouds, then you will likely lose the surface detail.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:15 pm 
This was what I managed to get last night. The moon was bright, but it still came out yellow and none of the surrounding cloud was picked up.

Image


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8028
Location: UK
Looks like you can afford to go quite a bit brighter on the moon without losing detail on it, which might help bring out anything else around too.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:28 pm 
Do you mean make it brighter in photoshop?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:52 pm
Posts: 2176
Location: The Netherlands
Shoot in RAW, process it later in Photoshop.
The WB is incorrect;)

_________________
Ruben

Panasonic DMC-FZ18, Panasonic DMC-FZ28, Canon G5, Canon 350D, Canon 50D + BG-E2N
Tamron 17-50 2.8, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM,
Canon 18-55 II plus lots of Minolta MD/M42 lenses and bodies


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 2:21 pm 
Hi,

Here in India, around Feb (not really sure, I am very poor with dates....) the moon was going to appear reddish. So, I decided to photograph it. I have never really photographed the night sky, so was a complete novice there. I made these observations:
When I used a shutter-speed of around 1/200 seconds to 1/160 seconds, the moon looked pretty red.
Coming to 1/80 to 1/125 seconds, it looked more towards yellow.
At 1/30 seconds, it looked perfectly white with the craters visible.
At speeds longer than 1/30 seconds, the details were lost, and at over 1/4 seconds, it just became a pure white bulb-like sphere with a seemingly smooth surface.
Is the hue of the moon related to shutter speed in any way? I haven't found an explanation to this yet. And obviously and most importantly, the WB and colour effects, all were default. Even ISO was kept at 80, which is the minimum. I suspect the yellowish tinge in the colour of the moon might be related to the shutter. But, I would gladly like to know how!

Jinay.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 11:15 pm 
I can't shoot in RAW, the S2000HD doesn't allow it!


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 4:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 916
Location: UK
Are you able to set the white balance though?

That looks a very good picture :D

_________________
Canon EOS 500D
Lenses: EFS 18-55mm IS, EF 50mm F/1.8 II

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:32 pm 
I have 6 preset modes for white balance, I leave it on auto.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 916
Location: UK
Is one of the presets labelled "custom", for a custom white balance?

_________________
Canon EOS 500D
Lenses: EFS 18-55mm IS, EF 50mm F/1.8 II

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:52 pm 
Yes there is a custom one.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 916
Location: UK
I would set it to custom then, especially for those tricky situations.

You take a photograph of something white (eg paper / screen) and then when previewing the photo on the LCD, you set it as the custom reading. You will then have to remember to set it back to auto, or take a new white balance photograph, each and everytime the scene changes.

The white item that you are using MUST be in the scene. For example if I was shooting outdoors, I would take the white paper with me, and photograph it outdoors with me. This is mandatory so the camera can see what light you have.

Settings vary dependant on the camera that you're using at the time.

_________________
Canon EOS 500D
Lenses: EFS 18-55mm IS, EF 50mm F/1.8 II

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 916
Location: UK
1. Access the white balance menu (where you see the presets)
2. Select the 'custom' setting
3. Aim the camera at the white card or object
4. Press the shutter

COMPLETED should be displayed on the screen once the camera is ready

5. Press Menu/OK


That is pretty much it
Custom Balance > Shutter > Menu/OK


If it doesn't quite go to plan, and "Over" or "Under" is displayed, then you will have to ajdust the exposure compensation accordingly, and try again until is does display "Completed" on the screen. Just redo the steps written above.

I use custom white balances and they work well, but make sure that the white object fills the whole frame of the camera. It is best to zoom in to the centre of the white card to ensure that it is all covered.

_________________
Canon EOS 500D
Lenses: EFS 18-55mm IS, EF 50mm F/1.8 II

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:42 pm 
Thanks mate, you're a star :D


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group