Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:15 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:54 am 

Hi...
I'm new here and i seek advice... :oops:

I'm saving up for my 1st dslr which is the sony alpha 300.
I have made my choice because of its easy to use live view(i'm still a noob btw).
The live view is to help me start off easy then maybe in the future i'll use the viewfinder.
I have read a few reviews about the a300 and all of them have one thing in common. They all talked about how unusually small the viewfinder is. Is this a huge problem? or is the live view good enough for full time use? If so i've heard that there are uhm magnifiers for the viewfinder. Could i have some recommendations?

And also, i've noticed that the dslr users here talk about f1 or f4 or something like that in a lens? I would like to know more about this. I will be getting the kit lens which are 18-70mm and 55-200mm and both f4-f5.6. what does f4 anf f5.6 means? And are the lens i am getting good for a beginner like me? I take macro, portraits, some wildlife, some fast indoor and outdoor sports and indoor events. Some say that its better to use a 18-200mm or 250mm lens for its flexibility. I would also like some advice about this.

Edit: I've found a Tamron AF18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 for a very cheap price. Should i take that offer or stick to the kit lens?

I don't have a very big budget so i intend to get a lens that will suite my need for a while.

Any suggestions is welcomed.

Thanks....

:D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:44 am 

Welcome to the Camera Labs forum.

The a300 is a fine camera. And yes, the viewfinder is a bit small. But I never experienced any problems with it ( I use a a200).