Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:41 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:36 pm 
Hello all.

Another DSLR newbie here.

Right now its between the Nikon D40 and the Sony A200. I finally was able to get to Ritz last night and play with both. The Sony felt really good in my hands but unfortunately their battery wasn't charged so I couldn't play with anymore than just holding it.

I think I've pretty much made up my mind but question for all Sony users:

What would you tell someone if their indecision was based on Nikon's great reputation? What features would you say would push you towards the Sony?

TIA!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:44 pm 
Speaking from an alpha mind:

why I would not go for the nikon: 3-point af system, only autofocus with lenses who have it in their lens, "only" 6.1 mgp, no compact flash.

why I would go for the sony: Super Steady shot, 10 mgp, autofocus build in the body, 9-point af system

So yes I went for the Sony, but mine decision was mainly based on the fact that I could get this one very cheap, a decision I haven't regret for a moment though.

This are only the features that I find important, the nikon d40 is not a bad camera, its just 'diferent', so what do you find important.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:54 pm 
I would say that the Sony has more dynamic range, the super steady shot that comes built in for all lenses, the eye-focus thing, a good kitlens range to start with and i think above all the fact that Sony are making sensors for more than 15 DSRL's in the market, including some Nikons.
As an Alpha user i advise you to go for the A200, i love it !

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:09 pm 
I'll echo the above 2 posts, go for Alpha.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:40 pm